Sunday 16 December 2018

Five Irish Independent reporters up for awards

Stock picture
Stock picture

Five Irish Independent news reporters have been nominated for awards in the event that celebrates excellence in journalism.

Conor Feehan and Sarah MacDonald are in the running for News Reporter of the Year in the NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards 2017. Ms MacDonald has also been nominated in the Scoop of the Year category for her story on Archbishop Diarmuid Martin removing priests from Maynooth seminary.

Political Correspondent Niall O'Connor has been nominated in three categories. He has been short-listed for the Political Journalist of the Year, Young Journalist of the Year and Political Story of the Year for his piece on the callous murder of prison officer Brian Stack.

Meanwhile, crime reporter Robin Schiller has been put forward for Crime Story of the Year.

INM showbiz editor Melanie Finn is also nominated in the Showbiz Reporter of the Year category.

The awards will take place on Thursday, November 2.

There are 25 separate categories to enter for journalists this year.

Irish Independent

Business Newsletter

Read the leading stories from the world of Business.

Also in Business