| 10.6°C Dublin

Former bank bosses are called to inquiry


Brian Lenihan and Brian Cowen in 2010.

Brian Lenihan and Brian Cowen in 2010.

Brian Lenihan and Brian Cowen in 2010.

THE four key bank leaders who met the Taoiseach and Finance Minister on the fateful night of the bank guarantee have been called to the next phase of the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry.

Former bosses at Bank of Ireland, Richard Burrows and Brian Goggin, and Allied Irish Banks' Dermot Gleeson and Eugene Sheehy are being summoned to the next and crucial stage of the parliamentary inquiry into the €64bn collapse of the Irish banking system in autumn 2008 along with other banking figures and the heads of Nama.

The four bank principals met at Government Buildings with Taoiseach Brian Cowen, Finance Minister Brian Lenihan and a large group of senior government officials for six hours of talks which led to the bank guarantee on September 30, 2008.

Other banking figures listed include: Bank of Ireland's Richie Boucher, Michael Torpey and Laurence Crowley; Donal Forde and Michael Buckley, formerly of AIB; and former Ulster Bank boss Cormac McCarthy.

Business Newsletter

Read the leading stories from the world of business.

This field is required