Business Irish

Monday 9 December 2019

AIB announce Pym as new chairman

David Hodgkinson, executive chairman of AIB
David Hodgkinson, executive chairman of AIB

AIB has announced that Richard Pym will be its new chairman.

The current chairman - David Hodgkinson - will retire from the board of the bank in December.

Mr Pym (64) is a Chartered Accountant, and has held a series of senior roles, including as former Group Chief Executive of Alliance &

Leicester plc. He is currently Chairman of The Co‐operative Bank plc, Nordax Finans AB, and UK Asset Resolution Limited1.

Mr Pym has already announced that he will be standing down as Chairman of The Co‐operative Bank later this year.

He is also a former Chairman of the BrightHouse Group plc, Halfords Group plc and The Co‐operative Banking Group, and a former non‐executive director of The British Land Company plc, Old Mutual plc and Selfridges plc.

Speaking today, Mr Pym said: “I am delighted to accept the invitation to be the next Chairman of AIB and I look forward to contributing to the progress that has already been made in re‐building a strong bank. Irish taxpayers have made considerable sacrifices in supporting the banking system and I am very conscious of my responsibilities in that regard.”

David Hodgkinson welcomed Mr Pym'ss upcoming appointment and said “I am delighted we have been able to select a candidate of Richard's capability and experience, to guide AIB on the next phase of its journey as a vital component of Ireland's economic infrastructure.

"It has been a privilege for me to serve in such an important role in the restructuring of the bank, and to work with a group of people dedicated to meeting a significant challenge in difficult circumstances.”

Online Editors

Also in Business