Farm Ireland

Monday 20 November 2017

Macra to vote in new chief

Martin Ryan

A new round of election fever is set to grip the 8,000 members of Macra na Feirme over the next three weeks as contenders from Wicklow, Wexford and Cork stage their pitches for the leadership of the organisation.

Three candidates have declared for the election to decide, who will succeed current president Michael Gowing who will step down on completion of his two-year term of office next May.

The contenders for the position are Tommy Dolan, Wicklow, who is currently completing his term as Leinster vice-president, Dara Kavanagh, Wexfprd, the reigning national chairman and Alan Jagoe from Cork.

Over the next three weeks the candidates will address regional gatherings of Macra members, setting out their objectives, policies and aspirations for the organisation over the coming two years.

Also Read

Indo Farming