Farm Ireland

Friday 19 January 2018

Four candidates in race for IFA deputy presidency

Nigel Reneghan
Nigel Reneghan
James Murphy
Tom Turley

Martin Ryan

A second candidate has secured nomination for the IFA deputy presidential race, and two further contenders are expected to be ratified within the next 36 hours.

Monaghan's Nigel Renaghan, who chairs the IFA's poultry committee, has been joined by Richard Kennedy after the Limerick executive unanimously nominated the former Macra president and dairy chairman.

The Clarina dairy farmer topped the poll in Munster when he contested the election as a candidate for the IFA presidency in 2009.

Kilkenny's James Murphy, who holds a nomination for the south Leinster regional chair, was weighing up his position last night following requests throughout the day for him to switch to running for deputy president.

The Kilkenny executive has been on 'standby' to convene a meeting within hours to santion the nomination should he go for it.

Kildare was expected to nominate its chairman Pat Farrell at last night's executive meeting, while over the weekend in North Tipperary, Tim Cullinane supporters looked to convince their man to run.

The Toomevara pig farmer was understood to be still considering the situation last night.

Each candidate will require the support of five county chairmen in addition to the nomination from their home county to contest the election.

Also Read

In the contest for nominations for regional chairman, James McCarthy (Kerry) has pulled out of the contest in Munster.

Tom Turley (Galway) has beaten off a challenge to secure the nomination in Galway for the western region chair.

Bertie Roche lost out on the nomination at Galway's executive meeting last Thursday by a margin of just over 30 votes.

Mr Turley and Mayo nominee Padraic Joyce now require the signature of a second county chairman within the region to contest the election.

A third contender looked likely to emerge from Roscommon executive last night (Monday). County chairman John Hanley confirmed that there were "a number of names being mentioned within the county" for the post.


If three contenders are each chasing a second signature in a region with just five counties, it leaves the Sligo and Leitrim chairmen with the power to decide who goes forward.

Neither are expected to nominate additional candidates from within their own counties.

Sligo executive meet in the Sally Gardens, Ballisodare, to-night at 9pm and Leitrim IFA have convened a meeting in Berrys, Drumshambo, tomorrow night at 9pm.

In north Leinster, Bert Steward has the home nomination of Monaghan, and is confident of the support of two other chairmen that is required to get him across the line.

However, he has not "ruled out" a challenger emerging before the end of the week.

Cork North has nominated John Coughlan for the Munster chair, while Cork Central has nominated John O'Brien. Each require the support of two other county chairmen in the nine executive region.

In south Leinster, outgoing regional chairman James Murphy has been nominated by his own county Kilkenny, while farm business chairman, Tom Doyle, has been nominated by Wexford.

The official deadline for lodging completed nomination papers is next Wednesday, February 3.

Election meetings are due to get under way on Monday, February 8.

The 29 executive meetings will take place on Monday, Tuesday Thursday and Friday each week over a seven week period before the casting of votes commences in early April.

Indo Farming