| 23.6°C Dublin

Farm award entries close March 13

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Zurich Farmer of the Year Awards, held in conjunction with the Farming Independent. The closing date for the first round of entries is March 13th.

The award categories include: Beef Farmer of the Year; Dairy Farmer of the Year; Sheep Farmers of the Year; Tillage Farmer of the Year; Alternative Farmer of the Year; Equestrian Business of the Year; Farm Safety Award and Rising Star of 2015. In addition there will be a Lifetime Achievement Award and an overall Farmer of the Year Award.

Those involved in the equestrian industry are particularly being encouraged to participate. Alternatively they can be nominated by a friend or neighbour with their consent.

The winner of the Equestrian Business of the Year Award in 2014 was Rory Maher. Working on just over 17ac of land outside Templemore in Tipperary, the 24-year-old is a pinhooker, trading flat-bred thoroughbred foals as yearlings, in many cases for close to 10 times the value he paid for them.

His most successful yearling to date during his short career was a colt by Selkirk that sold at auction in 2012 for €130,000.

Details and entry forms on the awards are now available on

Farming Newsletter

Get the latest farming news and advice every Tuesday and Thursday.

This field is required

Most Watched