| 12.4°C Dublin

EU states fined for CAP breach

The European Commission announced fines of €436m for 13 member states for breaches of CAP rules.

Due to the financial crisis, the Commission has allowed Member States under financial assistance to delay payments for up to 18 months.

Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, and Britain were all subjected to fines.

More than €250m of the total was related to illegal plantings of vines in Spain, Greece and Italy.

However, France was fined nearly €63m for late entry into the database of animal movements and weaknesses in the verification of supporting documents.

Poland was also fined for inadequate cross-compliance systems in relation to GAEC.

Indo Farming