Corkman wins ploughing title

Derek Casey

Derek Casey

Lemken has announced the winner of its 2013 Lemken Plough Operator of the Year competition in Kildalton College.

It went to Philip O'Neill from Midleton, Co Cork.

According to the judges, Mr O'Neill showed great attention to detail in his ploughing over the last few months and in particular on the test day, which was held recently.

The judges were also impressed by Mr O'Neill's keen eye for safety and depth of knowledge while ploughing throughout the season.

Mr O'Neill also had the fastest time of just 30 seconds to change the metal on a DuraMaxxLemken slatted plough body on the test day.

A second-place prize went to Rory Fitzsimons from Co Kildare.


Mr Fitzsimons also showed great ability and knowledge, but in the end there could only be one winner.

Get the latest news from the Farming Independent team 3 times a week.

"It was a close-fought battle and the competition is definitely something we will be repeating next year," said Lemken's Diarmuid Claridge. The competition was sponsored by local Lemken dealer Templetouhy Farm Machinery (TFM).

Irish Independent

For Stories Like This and More
Download the Free Farming Independent App