Farm Ireland

Friday 19 January 2018

Candidates show their hand for Macra race

Outgoing Macra na Feirme president Kieran O’Dowd
Outgoing Macra na Feirme president Kieran O’Dowd

Martin Ryan

Four candidates look set to battle it out to become the next president of Macra.

Already declared are Eamon Cassells (Athboy), chairman of the Competitions Committee; Paddy Delaney (Timahoe), Leinster vice president; Sean Finan (Castlerea) national treasurer; and Michelle O'Callaghan (Knockraha), a member of the National Council and National Executive.

Nominations for the election of the successor to current president Kieran O'Dowd, and the election of three regional vice presidents will close on March 3 at 5pm and the result of the postal ballot of the membership will be announced on April 7. The new president elect will take up office for a two-year term in May.

Caroline O'Dowd, (Sligo) wife of outgoing president, Kieran O'Dowd, is contesting the election for vice president in the north-west, where Ray Gilmartin, (Leitrim) has also declared for the contest.

To date only one contender, Gerry Griffin, (Cork) has announced candidature for Munster vice president.

In the Leinster area Lorna Sweetman (Dublin), Aoife Lanigan (Kilkenny) and Noel Duffy (Offaly) have announced their candidature for the position of vice-president.

Also Read

Indo Farming