| -2.5°C Dublin

Shortlist announced for KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards


Meitheal Architects and Cork City Council are among the nominees for their work on Princes St in Cork

Meitheal Architects and Cork City Council are among the nominees for their work on Princes St in Cork

Meitheal Architects and Cork City Council are among the nominees for their work on Princes St in Cork

The shortlist of finalists for the 2022 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards has been announced in the advance of the presentations to the winners next Thursday, 24 November, at the Convention Centre, Dublin.

Jim Clery, Partner, Head of Real Estate at KPMG said: “The variety of exceptional projects undertaken during Covid times is impressive. We’ve seen a large focus on environmental, sustainability and governance (ESG), regeneration and digitalisation, and judged over 120 entries.”

In the Urban Realm and Planning category, the finalists are: Ennis Street Regeneration Project by Shareridge Civil Engineering and Clare County Council; Princes Street, Cork by Meitheal Architects and Cork City Council; and Cairn’s Mariavilla residential development of 380 units in Maynooth, Co Kildare.

Community & Heritage Award nominees are: McCabe Architects for Lyons Mill in Sligo’s Docklands; The Ballyshannon Historic Towns Initiative and Donegal County Council; Honan Chapel conservation at UCC by FNP architects; and Restoration of Bellgree Community Garden, Tyrrellstown, Co Dublin by Glenveagh.

The Architect Award finalists are: Wejchert Architects for ILIM’s 70 St Stephen’s Green as a corporate HQ; O’Mahony Pike and MOLA Architecture for Kennedy Wilson’s 10-12 Hanover Quay, Dublin; Henry J Lyons for Chris Jones’ Bottleworks on Barrow Street, Dublin; and McCauley Daye O’Connell Architects for Belfield Office Park, Dublin 4.

Finalists for the Climate Action & Sustainability category are: D/RES Properties for renewal energy at Tinakilly Park, Rathnew Co Wicklow; Coady Architects for Wicklow County Council’s Kilbride Social Housing; Tipperary Energy Agency for Lahinch Leisure Centre, Co Clare; and Peter Kickels for transforming The Willows House, Dartry, Dublin 6.

Contractor finalists include the only eighth generation family construction company in Ireland, Collen, which has been building for 212 years. John Paul Construction and Bennett Construction are also shortlisted for being among the most innovative and progressive in their sector.

The Workplace Innovation (Best Covid response) finalists are: Ethos Engineering for its Ethos Living Lab; TAYRA S.L’s for Something In The Air initiative; MOLA Architecture for Cherrywood Canopy and Biophilic Sunken Garden; and D/RES for safe working practices on construction sites.

Shortlisted for the Property Fund Manager Award are IPUT Real Estate; Aviva Ireland Irish Commercial Property Fund; ILIM and I-RES.

Proptech Deployment finalists are: McCabe Architects; Offr; PropertyLocator.ie and Iamsold.

The Young Property Professional (U30) Award nominees are Kevin Sands and Darren Hession.

Finalists for the Residential Agency Award are: Hooke & MacDonald, Hunters, Property Partners and O’Donnellan & Joyce Auctioneers.

Business Newsletter

Read the leading stories from the world of business.

This field is required

Most Watched