| 5.6°C Dublin

Fagan sends St Patrick's through


St Patrick's were the only Irish team to advance

St Patrick's were the only Irish team to advance

St Patrick's were the only Irish team to advance

St Patrick's booked their spot in the third and final qualifying round of the Europa League thanks to Christy Fagan's extra-time winner against Siroki Brijeg.

Fagan struck in the 105th minute to seal a 2-1 win on the night and a 3-2 victory on aggregate for Liam Buckley's side, who next face German club Hannover.

St Patrick's had earlier seen the 39th-minute lead given to them by John Russell cancelled out by Ivica Dzidic's 65th-minute equaliser, sending the tie to extra time after the first leg had also finished 1-1.

It was not such a good night for Sligo and Portadown, though, with both bidding farewell to the competition.

St Patrick's' domestic rivals Sligo were knocked out 4-2 on aggregate by Slovakian outfit Spartak Trnava after only managing a 1-1 draw at The Showgrounds in the second leg.

Peter Cvirik gave Spartak a 70th-minute with Jason McGuinness' equaliser in stoppage time for Sligo.

Northern Irish side Portadown were sent tumbling after a comprehensive 10-2 aggregate defeat at the hands of Slaven Koprivnica.

The Croatian side had done all the hard work in the first leg as they build a 6-0 lead for the trip to Shamrock Park, where goals from Igor Bubnjic (10), Petar Brlek (14) and Martin Saban (62 and 64) earned the visitors a 4-2 victory. Portadown's replies came from Richard Lecky (45) and Neil McCafferty (67).

Daily Digest Newsletter

Get ahead of the day with the morning headlines at 7.30am and Fionnán Sheahan's exclusive take on the day's news every afternoon, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required