Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Young leads Mullins one-two

Published 16/02/2013 | 18:51

So Young landed the Red Mills Trial Hurdle by six lengths
So Young landed the Red Mills Trial Hurdle by six lengths

So Young got the better of his stablemate Zaidpour to run out an impressive winner of the Red Mills Trial Hurdle at Gowran Park.

Often used as a Champion Hurdle trial by the likes of Hardy Eustace, So Young only holds an entry in the World Hurdle at Cheltenham, but showed surprising speed under David Casey.

Arnaud was flanked by the Willie Mullins pair over the second-last and while Zaidpour, the 4-6 favourite, had the advantage of the rail, it was So Young (11-4) who sprinted clear to win by six lengths.

Mullins said: "That's his first Graded win, but he's always promised to win one. He made a bad mistake at the last when he would have gone close in the Neptune at Cheltenham and we've never been able to get him to do that again.

"We changed a few things at home with him and it looks like it might have paid off. We keep thinking he's a two-and-a-half-mile horse, but we brought him back to two miles today.

"I thought Zaidpour would have won, but Paul (Townend) said he was never really travelling after he made a bad mistake.

"They'll both be entered at Cheltenham, but there are nice prizes at home for them both and it may be best to keep them at home.

"They'd be going there with a little chance, but both have been well beaten there even though they've run their races before."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport