Sport

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Whittington pounces in Anglesey

Published 19/07/2014 | 17:58

Dick Whittington (left) edges out Toscanini
Dick Whittington (left) edges out Toscanini

Dick Whittington edged out old rival Toscanini in a thrilling climax to the Jebel Ali Racecourse & Stables Anglesey Stakes.

  • Go To

Toscanini finished narrowly ahead of Dick Whittington when the pair finished second and third respectively behind Richard Pankhurst in the Chesham Stakes at Royal Ascot and the pair were 2-1 joint-favourites for the rematch.

Toscanini was in the firing line from flag-fall, with Joseph O'Brien waiting until the final furlong before unleashing Dick Whittington, and though Toscanini stuck to his guns admirably against the rail, the Ballydoyle runner wore him down to take the Group Three prize by half a length.

Rapid Applause came through to finish third, with Queen Mary Stakes third Newsletter a disappointing last of five runners.

O'Brien snr said: "He's a fast horse. Five or six furlongs looks his trip. I think it would be tight to get a mile with him.

"I'm delighted and we'll look at something like the Phoenix Stakes with him."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport