Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Waterford's second half surge eases them past Westmeath

Published 29/06/2013 | 19:22

Brian O'Sullivan in action against Adam Price
Brian O'Sullivan in action against Adam Price

Waterford outscored Westmeath by 17 points in the second half to ease through Phase One of the All-Ireland hurling qualifiers with a 3-22 to 0-14 win at Cusack Park in Mullingar.

  • Go To

Westmeath played with the breeze in the opening half and held the lead throughout the first 35 minutes thanks to scores from Derek McNicholas and Brendan Murtagh.

The Lakesiders looked to be on course for a half-time lead but Brian O'Sullivan's goal meant it was 1-7 to 0-10 at the break.

Once they had the breeze the Deise cut loose and Westmeath could only muster four second half points.

Brian O'Sullivan grabbed a second goal and Maurice Shanahan got another one late on as they cruised to a facile win.

In today's other Phase One qualifier, Wexford got the fright of their lives from Carlow.

Carlow bossed the first half and led 0-13 to 1-6 at the break but Wexford struck back for a 2-16 to 0-20 win.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport