Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Waterford IT edge Limerick IT after extra-time in epic Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final

Published 28/02/2014 | 16:42

28 February 2014; Liam McGrath, Waterford Institute of Technology celebrates at the final whistle. Irish Daly Mail Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final, Limerick IT v Waterford Institute of Technology. The Dub, Queen's University, Belfast, Co. Antrim. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE
28 February 2014; Liam McGrath, Waterford Institute of Technology celebrates at the final whistle. Irish Daly Mail Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final, Limerick IT v Waterford Institute of Technology. The Dub, Queen's University, Belfast, Co. Antrim. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE

WATERFORD Institute of Technology are through to the IDM Fitzgibbon Cup final after an epic extra-time semi-final defeat of Davy Fitzgerald’s Limerick IT.

  • Go To

A goal from Clare’s Cathal McInerney set LIT up with a big nine-point lead (1-12 to 0-6) but when WIT took over the wind advantage they fought back and a goal for either side in the dying minutes took it into extra-time when the sides finished on 2-15 apiece.

Half-way through extra-time they still couldn’t be separated  (Limerick 3-16 to WIT 2-19) but at the end of 80 minutes Colm Bonnar’s WIT just nicked it 2-21 to 3-17 in a marvellous game that re-kindled memories of the brilliant 2008 final between the same two colleges.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport