Sport

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Ward one step closer to US Open

Published 22/08/2014 | 06:31

James Ward is one match away from appearing in the main draw at the US Open
James Ward is one match away from appearing in the main draw at the US Open

James Ward defeated France's Vincent Millot to reach the final round of qualifying at the US Open.

  • Go To

The British number two - the only British player to win a match in qualifying at Flushing Meadows this year - is at a career-high ranking of 131 after an excellent run and has kept that going in New York.

After beating little-known Bosnian Aldin Setkic in round one, Ward was given a tougher test by Millot but came through 6-4 6-4.

Andy Murray played Millot in the second round of the Australian Open in January and trailed 5-1 in the third set before reeling off 23 straight points.

There were no such dramatic twists and turns in this match but it was Ward who managed to claim the crucial advantage in each set.

Ward, who will play either Marton Fucsovics of Hungary or Moldova's Radu Albot on Friday, also reached the third round of qualifying last year only to lose from a break up in the deciding set against Somdev Devvarman.

He qualified for the first time at the French Open in May and victory on Friday would ensure he has played in the main draw at each grand slam.

Also through to the final round is Ireland's James McGee, who came from a set down to defeat India's Yuki Bhambri.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport