Wednesday 18 October 2017

Punching above our weight with two Dunhill Cup wins

Dunhill Cup winning team 1990
Dunhill Cup winning team 1990

The Dunhill Cup triumphs of 1988 and 1990 were especially notable for leadership - the Irish way.

 When urging Des Smyth and Ronan Rafferty to optimum effort in 1988, Eamonn Darcy instructed: "Now listen to me . . . and go off and do your own thing." Two years later, the mood was more sombre when Rafferty and Philip Walton had David Feherty as captain. Indeed after Feherty's play-off win for the title over England's Howard Clark, a casual passer-by would have had problems identifying the winner. "Anyone who enjoys this must be a masochist," was Clark's reaction. With barely disguised panic, Feherty agreed. "The enigma of golf is that it's going to hurt if you're to do well."

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport