Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


UCI checking bikes for motors as battle against cheating continues

Matt McGeehan

Published 03/02/2014 | 17:48

UCI President Brian Cookson
UCI President Brian Cookson

The UCI is continuing its fight against doping - this time of the mechanical variety - after checking bicycles for motors at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Hoogerheide, Holland.

A report by Belgian newspaper Het Nieuwsblad that a minute camera was inserted into bike frames last weekend to search for motors was correct, Press Association Sport understands. None were found.

Czech Republic's Zdenek Stybar, who rides on the road for Mark Cavendish's Omega Pharma-QuickStep team, won the men's race in the non-Olympic discipline.

The women's race across the Dutch mud was won by home favourite Marianne Vos, the Olympic and world road race champion.

Cycling's world governing body has checked for motors in bike frames previously, but the weekend checks were the first time since disgraced rider Danilo Di Luca, a serial drug cheat, made claims of mechanical doping in an interview on Italian television last month.

In 2010, Swiss road racing star Fabian Cancellara had to fight off accusations of motor use following a dominant spring classics campaign when he won both the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix one-day races.

Scanners were brought in for the 2010 Tour de France and after winning the prologue in Rotterdam, Cancellara hit back at the claims.

Cancellara said: "After the race my bike was brought to the scanner and I told the guys there: 'Well, you better look at the engine. The engine's me'."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport