Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sven-Goran Eriksson approached by Cardiff to take over from Malky Mackay

Jason Burt

Published 21/12/2013 | 14:02

Sven-Goran Eriksson has been approached by Cardiff according to reports
Sven-Goran Eriksson has been approached by Cardiff according to reports

Sven-Goran Eriksson has emerged as the leading contender to replace Malky Mackay as Cardiff City manager.

Contact is understood to have already been made with the former England manager, who is currently coaching in China.

Mackay is expected to be sacked following today's Premier League match away to Liverpool.

However, Cardiff chairman Mehmet Dalman has been fighting for Mackay to be given more time by club owner Vincent Tan who flew in for talks on Friday night.

Dalman wants Mackay to stay until the end of the season, although the Scot's position has become increasingly untenable.

The situation is being closely monitored by the League Managers Association and it would already appear that Mackay has a case for constructive dismissal should he decide to resign.

Despite the chaos at Cardiff, it is understood that Eriksson would be keen to return to the Premier League and take over the hot seat.

He is not the only candidate being considered by Tan but the Malaysian wants a so-called big name to help promote the Welsh club.

Eriksson has not worked in the top-flight of English football since being sacked by Manchester City five years ago.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport