Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Star stallion Beneficial dies

Published 01/04/2013 | 18:42

Benefficient, a son of Beneficial, winning at Cheltenham
Benefficient, a son of Beneficial, winning at Cheltenham

Star Irish stallion Beneficial has died at the age of 23.

  • Go To

The leading sire of Graded and Listed jumps winners collapsed on Saturday due to the infirmities of old age.

His big-race winners include Benefficient, who was victorious in the Jewson Novices' Chase at the Cheltenham Festival in March, three-times Grade One chase scorer Realt Dubh, 2009 RSA Chase hero Cooldine and smart staying hurdler Monksland.

Sean Kinsella, of Knockhouse Stud, where Beneficial had resided since he was a six-year-old, said: "Horses like him don't come around too often and he'll be missed by everyone. He only covered a lot of average mares, but the quality of his stock was exceptionally good.

"He had four winners alone in Ireland on Sunday, so that just shows you how good he was.

"It's a big loss to Irish racing - whether we've got anything close to what he was like, I'm not so sure.

"He was a six-year-old when he came to us and has been a great servant.

"I'm sure his legacy will live on throughout the years."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport