Sport

Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


St Nicholas Abbey in "great form" as recovery continues

Published 10/12/2013 | 16:03

St Nicholas Abbey is hugely popular apart from being worth a fortune
St Nicholas Abbey is hugely popular apart from being worth a fortune

A more upbeat bulletin on St Nicholas Abbey reports the multiple Group One winner to be in "great form" despite a host of problems besetting the six-year-old in his fight to recover from a fractured pastern suffered during the summer.

Last month Coolmore warned the three-time Coronation Cup hero faced a "critical" few weeks following the onset of laminitis in October.

Aidan O'Brien's star had to be retired after suffering the leg injury on the gallops at Ballydoyle when being prepared for the King George VI And Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Just two days after he underwent a major leg operation at Fethard Equine Hospital in July, the son of Montjeu had to have emergency surgery to be treated for colic.

He had a further setback in August when it was discovered a steel weight-bearing pin in a cannon bone had broken, and then had a further serious blow with "mild laminitic changes in the left fore".

A statement on www.coolmore.com read: "St Nicholas Abbey remains in great form despite the ongoing complications of laminitis and is walking as good as can be expected.

"We would hope to see progress in the laminitic foot over the next few weeks (hoping that he continues to grow the hoof), if this happens rehabilitation of the fractured leg can then progress."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport