Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 0

Poland POL 1

Ongoing

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Spurs fans should be allowed to chant 'Yid' - David Cameron

Joe Churcher

Published 17/09/2013 | 13:59

UK Prime Minister David Cameron
UK Prime Minister David Cameron

Tottenham Hotspur fans who use the word "Yid" in chants should not face prosecution, David Cameron said.

The Britiish Prime Minister entered the row after the Football Association issued a statement warning supporters that use of such words could result in either a banning order or even criminal charges.

For years Tottenham, who have a strong Jewish following, have been on the receiving end of anti-Semitic abuse from opposition fans.

In an act of defiance, some fans started using the word "Yid" themselves, and chants of "Yids", "Yid Army" and "Yiddos" are regularly sung in the home stands at White Hart Lane.

Mr Cameron told The Jewish Chronicle: "There's a difference between Spurs fans self-describing themselves as Yids and someone calling someone a Yid as an insult.

"You have to be motivated by hate. Hate speech should be prosecuted - but only when it's motivated by hate."

The north London club responded to the FA warning by announcing they would send a questionnaire to all season ticket holders asking if the practice should stop.

Fans reacted defiantly to the FA's statement on Saturday as they chanted "Yid Army" and "We'll sing what we want" throughout the 2-0 win over Norwich.

The same happened last season after Peter Herbert, the head of the Society of Black Lawyers, threatened to report anyone using the phrase to police.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport