Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sorensen causes upset in Stuttgart

Published 09/07/2014 | 21:13

Louk Sorensen progressed in Stuttgart
Louk Sorensen progressed in Stuttgart

Irish lucky loser Louk Sorensen booked his place in the second round of the Mercedes Cup in Stuttgart with a straight-sets win over 68-ranked Dutchman Igor Sijsling on Wednesday.

The 29-year-old Sorensen, who was born in Germany, broke his opponent four times and needed just 50 minutes to wrap up one of the best wins of his career 6-4 6-1.

Next up for world number 236 Sorensen is a meeting with third seed Roberto Bautista Agut of Spain.

Spanish sixth seed Guillermo Garcia-Lopez recovered from a nightmare second set to book his place in the second round.

Garcia-Lopez won the first set but dropped the second 6-1 to Italian world number 140 Marco Cecchinato, before rallying to claim a 6-4 1-6 7-5 victory in 121 minutes.

Garcia-Lopez will next face Swiss qualifier Yann Marti, who continued his fine run with a 7-5 6-4 win over lucky loser and compatriot Henri Laaksonen.

Colombian Santiago Giraldo was another seed safely through as the 26-year-old needed just 62 minutes to see off Croatia's Mate Delic 6-4 6-2

Giraldo will next face Russian qualifier Philipp Davydenko, who kept his nerve to overcome Slovenia's Blaz Rola 6-4 7-6 (10/8).

Czech Lukas Rosol saw off German wild card Alexander Zverev 7-6 (9/7) 7-6 (11/9), Daniel Gimeno-Traver beat Germany's Peter Gojowczyk 7-5 6-3, and Benjamin Becker was a 3-6 6-2 6-2 winner over Benoit Paire.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport