Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Wheelchair fans caught standing during World Cup games

Published 20/06/2014 | 12:57

A group of supporters who appeared to jump out of their wheelchairs at World Cup 2014 are being investigated for ticket fraud.

  • Go To

Police are investigating pictures from CCTV and social media which show supposedly wheelchair-bound Brazil fans standing during the opening game of the tournament in Sao Paulo, between the hosts and Croatia.

Police believe some fans who bought tickets on the black market may have tried to cover their tracks by using wheelchairs to enter the stadium.

Many of the concession tickets designated for disabled fans have fallen into the hands of touts amid the scramble for tickets. There have also been instances of young adults being seen in seats reserved for pensioners.

Touts have been selling tickets for disabled people outside stadiums. Selling a ticket for more than face value is a crime for which the maximum sentence is four years in prison.

Tickets for Brazil matches have been on sale for more than €1,200, as much as 10 times face value.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport