Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Wayne Rooney claims "strange" Paul Scholes criticism upset a lot of people at United

Paul Hirst

Published 11/06/2014 | 22:38

England's Wayne Rooney during a Press Conference at Urca Military Training Ground, Rio de Janeiro today
England's Wayne Rooney during a Press Conference at Urca Military Training Ground, Rio de Janeiro today

Wayne Rooney believes Paul Scholes upset a lot of people at Manchester United when he suggested the striker might be past his best.

Scholes played alongside Rooney for nine years at Old Trafford, but in a recent blog he claimed the 28-year-old's powers may be on the wane.

Rooney found Scholes' comments "strange", especially when the former midfielder was part of the United coaching staff towards the end of last year.

And the England forward is happy that United's hierarchy, who handed him a new deal last season, do not share Scholes' opinion.

"I'm sure he's upset a lot of people at Man United because they see me as worthy of signing a new deal at the club, so they obviously have got a different opinion to what Paul has," Rooney said.

England captain Steven Gerrard hit out at Scholes for his comments, which came out the week England began their World Cup preparations.

Rooney was unwilling to publicly criticise such an acclaimed player as Scholes, but he plainly does not agree with his comments.

"It was a big strange, I'll be honest, but he has his opinions and he's entitled to them," Rooney added.

"I don't agree with it, but he's probably the best player I've ever played with, so I'm not going to knock him as a player, but I don't agree with his point.

"I'm sure he has his reasons for it."

Interestingly, Scholes has not felt the need to reach out to Rooney to explain his comments.

When asked whether Scholes had been in touch with him, Rooney said: "No. He's been a great player at Man United, but I've never had his phone number and he's never had mine."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport