Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


RTE viewers mystified by Kenny Cunningham's description of Tim Howard as 'average' before heroic display

Published 02/07/2014 | 10:14

Kenny Cunningham on RTE's World Cup coverage
Kenny Cunningham on RTE's World Cup coverage
Goalkeeper Tim Howard of the U.S. gestures during their 2014 World Cup round of 16 game against Belgium at the Fonte Nova arena in Salvador

RTE pundit Kenny Cunningham described Tim Howard as average before the Everton keeper produced one of the performances of the World Cup during the USA's 2-1 defeat to Belgium and twitter went nuts.

The former Republic of Ireland defender showed a montage of Howard before the game and identified him as a possible weakness Belgium could exploit in Jurgen Klinsmann's team.

Howard then made 16 saves - the most by any keeper in a World Cup match since 1966, according to statistics - before two goals in extra time saw Belgium emerged victorious.

Cunningham then went on the exacerbate things by admitting that Howard had kept the US in it but they were saves he should be making anyway.

Here's the pick of the twitter reaction:

View the story "Twitter reacts after Kenny Cunningham describes Tim Howard as a weak link" on Storify

Here is a vine of Cunningham discussing Tim Howard:

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport