Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


More than 850,000 tune into Bill O’Herlihy’s swansong on RTÉ’s World Cup Final coverage

Published 14/07/2014 | 14:58

Bill O'Herlihy has signed off for the last time.
Bill O'Herlihy has signed off for the last time.

RTÉ presenter Bill O’Herlihy went out on a high last night as more than 850,000 viewers tuned into his final broadcast as part of the World Cup Final coverage.

Coverage of Germany’s 1-0 victory over Argentina courtesy of an extra-time winner from substitute Mario Gotze  attracted an average audience of 857,000 viewers, peaking at 1,280,600 at one stage during the coverage (10.35pm).

56pc of viewers watching TV from 7.00-11.20pm last night were watching the coverage on RTÉ Two with the final was the highest-rating match of the World Cup coverage on RTÉ Two.

The World Cup Final was the top streamed game throughout the entire World Cup with 165,951 streams.

With his trademark “okey-doke” ringing in viewers’ ears, broadcasting legend O’Herlihy signed off on his 49-year career and was treated to a montage of his five decades working at RTE, with tributes from sporting giants including Robbie Keane, Brian Cody and Katie Taylor.

“We’ll leave it there so, okey-doke, goodnight and God bless,” he said as he handed over the reins to colleague Darragh Moloney.

O’Herlihy had said in interviews this week that he has not had any second thoughts over his retirement decision and plans to continue working with his communications firm.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport