Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kerryman on World Cup charity mission with local GAA jersey

Darragh Collins

Published 14/06/2014 | 14:27

Ireland may not have made it to Brazil, but one Kerryman has.

  • Go To

Tralee's Michael Griffin has taken to the festival of football on a very special mission.

And along with him is a local Na Gaeil GAA jersey as Mr Griffin is attempting  to get as many signatures as possible from World Cup stars. The sports fan will then auction the jersey for charity.

Michael has already met the likes of Leighton Baines, Robin Van Persie, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Danny Murphy, Ian Wright, Klass Jan Huntelaar, Roberto Martinez and football icon Diego Maradona.

“Martinez and Van Nistelrooy were actually familiar with the GAA,” he said to independent.ie.

“Martinez said he’d even been to Kerry before.”

Michael snapping a selfie with Van Persie in Brazil
Michael snapping a selfie with Van Persie in Brazil

The first video Michael posted online was with former Liverpool striker Dirk Kuyt wishing Na Gaeil GAA the best.

“I knew which hotel they were staying at and I got a tip that they were on the beach so I ran down and I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the whole Dutch team strolling across the sand," he said.

Michael’s biggest moment so was meeting Argentinean icon Diego Maradona.

“I had heard which hotel he was staying at and I drove down with Marcelo, my flat mate for the next six weeks in Brazil.

"We went into the hotel and we discovered that he was in fact there," Michael continued.

"He was walking out of the restaurant and there turned out to be a good number of Argentinean fans who had also been tipped off over his whereabouts."

"Marcelo roared out in Spanish that I was looking to get the jersey signed for a charity and Maradona approached me, grabbed the Na Gaeil jersey as tight as he could and signed it.

"I couldn’t believe it. I was like a child for the rest of the night; it was out of this world.”

And Michael isn’t finished yet. He has tickets for six games, including the final.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport