Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


FIFA's Ray Whelan not a 'fugitive' - MATCH

Published 11/07/2014 | 19:45

Ray Whelan (left) was arrested in Brazil
Ray Whelan (left) was arrested in Brazil

FIFA's official ticket and hospitality partner MATCH has denied its English director Ray Whelan is "a fugitive" from Brazilian police.

Detectives declared Whelan as a fugitive when he disappeared from his hotel via a service entrance minutes before police investigating illegal World Cup ticket sales arrived to re-arrest him.

MATCH said in a statement: "We do not believe that the term 'fugitive' is appropriate under the circumstances as he is presently with his lawyer.

"We understand that any accused in Brazil has the fundamental right to resist a coercion that he believes to be arbitrary and illegal.

"Ray Whelan has not yet been granted the due process of a fair trial. MATCH remains absolutely confident that any charges raised against Ray will be rebutted."

Police have received recordings of mobile phone conversations between Whelan and an Algerian, Lamine Fofana, who is alleged to be the leader of the ticket touting ring, negotiating the sale of hospitality packages for 25,000 US dollars (£14,605) each in cash.

MATCH admitted that offering the packages for cash was "highly unusual" but that it was "permitted under the various terms and conditions".

The company also said that Whelan was unaware that MATCH had put a block on Fofana buying any more packages or tickets.

Barucke said they had recorded 900 calls between Whelan and Fofana since the World Cup began.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport