Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Whelan hopeful Martinez will stay

Published 23/05/2013 | 07:37

Roberto Martinez, left, held talks with Dave Whelan, right, regarding his future on Wednesday
Roberto Martinez, left, held talks with Dave Whelan, right, regarding his future on Wednesday

Wigan chairman Dave Whelan remains hopeful manager Roberto Martinez will choose to fulfil his legacy at the club and stay on for at least another year.

Whelan is set to find out later today whether the Spaniard has decided to walk away from the DW Stadium after the club's relegation from the Barclays Premier League - and an FA Cup win - in search of a new challenge.

"I told him exactly as I saw it: his future for the next two years lies with Wigan Athletic," Whelan told Press Association Sport after meeting with Martinez on Wednesday. "If he wants to opt out of his contract and go then there is a bit of compensation to be paid but I hope that won't be the case. I hope he will extend his contract."

Whelan added: "As I see it there are two (Premier League) clubs (Everton and Stoke) available and does each club want him? We are talking about Roberto for the whole of Europe.

"I am not sure which club or the other has approached him but I am sure the club which will approach him will be bigger than Wigan."

Martinez left his meeting with Whelan asking for time to think over his future.

Whelan agreed but asked for a quick decision as he has to prepare the club not only for life in the npower Championship but also a Europa League campaign - which means strengthening the squad as soon as possible.

"We have had a constructive meeting and Roberto wants 24 hours to speak to his wife and decide what he wants to do," Whelan said on Wednesday.

"He needs a bit of time, which I think is fair."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport