Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Wenger: I'll sign new deal soon

Published 22/03/2014 | 09:27

Arsene Wenger says he has no plans to leave Arsenal
Arsene Wenger says he has no plans to leave Arsenal

Arsene Wenger maintains he wants to stay at Arsenal - and that there should be "no uncertainty at all" over his future.

  • Go To

The 64-year-old French coach will take charge of the Gunners for his 1,000th game at Chelsea on Saturday, but as yet there has been no confirmation Wenger will be staying on past the end of the season.

However, Wenger insists he is not considering moving on and that the formalities of a new deal will be announced soon.

Asked if he would still be at Arsenal after 1,010 matches, Wenger replied: "I think so, yes.

"I want to do well, and the expectation level and the impatience is there.

"My commitment is full. I do not want to look somewhere else. I want to stay here. There shouldn't be any uncertainty at all.

"My desire is to stay."

Wenger maintained he did not want speculation over his contract saga to deflect attention from Arsenal's run-in.

"It will be done soon, but I want now to focus on the end of the season," said Wenger, whose side could close the gap on leaders Chelsea to just a point and are through to the semi-finals of the FA Cup.

Wenger arrived as an unheralded coach in late September 1996, and soon moved to alter the psyche of the club.

He recalled: "I changed a few habits (of the players), which isn't easy in a team where the average age is 30 years.

"At the first match the players were chanting 'we want our Mars bars'. Then, at half-time I asked my physio Gary Lewin: 'Nobody is talking, what's wrong with them?' and he replied: 'They are hungry'.

"I hadn't given them their chocolate before the game. It was funny."

Wenger played an integral role in Arsenal's move to their new 60,000-seater home at Ashburton Grove, but one which has yet to see any new trophies delivered.

The Gunners boss accepts the north London club were always set for a tough period to maintain their competitiveness, which was made more difficult given the sudden seemingly limitless funds of their rivals.

"We made that (stadium) decision knowing that we could suffer a bit financially, but what was happening at the same time as that decision was that Chelsea and then Manchester City made huge investments, so we had the double effect," Wenger said.

"We were not only competing with the clubs who were at our level, but suddenly two other clubs came in. We did not expect that at that time."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport