Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Wayne Rooney is going nowhere, but I was right to drop him, insists Alex Ferguson

Published 08/03/2013 | 11:38

Alex Ferguson insists there is no fall-out between him and Wayne Rooney
Alex Ferguson insists there is no fall-out between him and Wayne Rooney

Alex Ferguson insists Wayne Rooney will still be at Manchester United next season.

  • Go To

Ferguson left Rooney out of the United line-up for Tuesday's Champions League defeat by Real Madrid, since when it has been suggested the Red Devils boss would be willing to accept an offer for the striker this summer.

However, speaking ahead of Sunday's FA Cup quarter-final with Chelsea, Ferguson said: "He will be here next year, you have my word on that. There is no issue between myself and Wayne Rooney. To suggest we don't talk is nonsense."

He went on: "He understood the reasons completely. Tactically we got it right. We don't always but we did then.

"There are no issues with the player and he will be involved on Sunday.

"I left out Shinji Kagawa after he scored a hat-trick. I thought I would get more stick for that."

Ferguson refused to say whether Rooney would actually start on Sunday.

And he again repeated his belief that the 27-year-old needed to play matches in order to retain full fitness, an assessment that has raised so much debate over the past few days.

"Why should I help anyone by telling them my team? We don't do that," said Ferguson.

"But Wayne does need a lot of football. He has always been that type. That has always been the case."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport