Sport Soccer

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Ward leaves Wolves for Burnley

Published 15/08/2014 | 22:00

Stephen Ward has become the seventh signing of the summer for Burnley
Stephen Ward has become the seventh signing of the summer for Burnley

Stephen Ward cannot wait to return to the Barclays Premier League after completing a move to Burnley from Wolves on the eve of the new season

The 28-year-old left-back, who has also been used further forward, has signed a three-year contract and becomes Sean Dyche's seventh new recruit at Turf Moor.

Ward l ast played in the top flight when the Molineux club were relegated in 2011/12 and, following a two-year hiatus, which included spending last year on loan at Brighton, he is relishing the prospect of a return to the big time.

"I'm absolutely thrilled, I've had eight years at Wolves now and I was on loan at Brighton last year, but to start a new chapter in my career is great," he told Burnley's official website.

"I don't think I could have picked a better place than Turf Moor and obviously to come to the Premier League is a massive pull as well.

"Once you get a taste of it you want to play as much Premier League football as you can."

The Republic of Ireland international was quietly impressed with what he saw as Burnley eased to automatic promotion last year and he believes they can surprise people again by staying up this year.

He joins fellow new signings Lukas Jutkiewicz, Matthew Gilks, Michael Kightly, Steven Reid, Marvin Sordell and Matthew Taylor with Dyche boosting his ranks with players who almost all have Premier League experience.

"Burnley have done superbly well to get promoted and hopefully I can play some part in us having a successful year," Ward added.

"It's a hungry squad that wants to stay in the Premier League for many years to come."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport