Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Walcott set for return to London

Published 23/03/2013 | 12:21

Theo Walcott is set for upwards of a week on the sidelines
Theo Walcott is set for upwards of a week on the sidelines

Theo Walcott will fly back to London after withdrawing from England's World Cup qualifiers against San Marino and Montenegro through injury.

  • Go To

A statement on the Arsenal website said the 24-year-old was struggling with a "minor hip/groin injury".

The statement added: "The Arsenal forward sustained the problem in training with the national team on Thursday and will fly back on Saturday to be assessed by the Club's medical staff."

It is anticipated the winger will be sidelined for between seven and 10 days.

Walcott had been expected to start Friday night's 8-0 thrashing of San Marino but instead is now on Arsenal's list of injury doubts for their Premier League encounter with Reading at the Emirates Stadium on March 30.

Arsenal team-mate Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain started in his place in Serravalle and got on the scoresheet in the rout.

After the game, Hodgson told BBC Radio Five Live: "Theo overstretched slightly crossing a ball and immediately felt a slight problem in the pelvic area.

"He went straight off the pitch and had a scan this morning and it showed a slight tear in the pelvic muscle.

"It kept him out tonight and will keep him out on Tuesday but hopefully won't keep him out for much longer.

"We did all we could to stop him aggravating it but these things happen sometimes in training."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport