Sport Soccer

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Vincent Kompany declares himself fit for Newcastle clash as he seeks to defuse row with Mancini

Andy Hampson

Published 29/03/2013 | 10:30

Vincent Kompany made his first competitive appearance in eight weeks when he featured for Belgium
Vincent Kompany made his first competitive appearance in eight weeks when he featured for Belgium

MANCHESTER CITY captain Vincent Kompany appears to have declared himself fit to return to action for the club this weekend.

  • Go To

Kompany angered manager Roberto Mancini by playing in a World Cup qualifier for Belgium on Tuesday when he had not played for the club for eight weeks.

 

Mancini felt the 26-year-old was risking a recurrence of his calf problem and warned that players should understand "there are some cases that the club is more important".

 

But Kompany, whose potential comeback had already been put back several times by City, was again not risked by Belgium in Macedonia last Friday and only featured in the return fixture this week.

 

He then spoke positively about his fitness prior to the game in Brussels and now seems set to feature against Newcastle in the Barclays Premier League.

 

Kompany tweeted a picture of his boots along with the caption: "They're ready to roll again! :-)"

 

City's inspirational skipper last played for the champions in their FA Cup fourth-round win at Stoke on January 26.

 

His call-up by Belgium irritated Mancini, who said: "For 60 days he didn't play for us and we did everything, then he went to play for the national team.

 

"If he had got another injury - if on Saturday he is not ready to play because he was with the national team, and we lose him for another month, this is not correct."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport