Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Villa Park prepared for a play-off

Published 17/05/2013 | 18:11

Chelsea and Arsenal could meet in a third-place play-off at Villa Park
Chelsea and Arsenal could meet in a third-place play-off at Villa Park

The Premier League has announced that a possible third-place play-off between Chelsea and Arsenal will take place at Villa Park on May 26 - a move which could jeopardise the Blues' tour match against Manchester City in the USA scheduled for the day before.

The play-off will only take place if results on Sunday mean the two London clubs are equal on points, goal difference and goals scored.

A Premier League statement said: "Should a play-off be necessary the Premier League has made arrangements for a single match to take place at Villa Park on Sunday 26 May 2013. The match will take place early afternoon with a kick-off time to be confirmed should results require the match to go ahead."

Chelsea are due to play City twice in the USA - with the second match at New York's Yankee stadium on May 25, the day before the play-off date. The Premier League statement says both the clubs have been consulted.

It states: "In the event of results in the Chelsea v Everton and Newcastle v Arsenal Barclays Premier League matches being a Chelsea draw, and an Arsenal win by a single-goal margin having scored two more than Chelsea, both teams would be level on points, goal difference and goals scored."

Under Premier League Rules this would lead to a play-off being required to decide which club finishes third and fourth, thereby determining which club enters the UEFA Champions League at the group stage and which at the play-off stage.

Tickets will be allocated equally between each club and will be priced at £20 and £30 with concessions for children and senior citizens priced at a 50% reduction.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport