Sport Soccer

Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 0

Poland POL 1

Ongoing

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Vermaelen close to Barca move

Published 08/08/2014 | 11:36

Thomas Vermaelen is set to bid farewell to Arsenal
Thomas Vermaelen is set to bid farewell to Arsenal

Arsenal defender Thomas Vermaelen is close to a £15million move to Barcelona, Press Association Sport understands.

The Belgium defender could complete a move to the Nou Camp over the weekend.

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger on Thursday suggested the club's preference was to sell the defender abroad, rather than to a domestic rival, with Manchester United rumoured to also be interested.

Club captain Vermaelen, who joined from Ajax in 2009, made 21 appearances for the Gunners last season.

Niggling injuries and the form of Laurent Koscielny and Per Mertesacker limited his impact.

However, despite being an unused substitute at Wembley, he did lift the FA Cup in May as Arsenal ended their nine-year trophy drought.

The 28-year-old has made 150 appearances in all competitions, scoring 15 goals for the Gunners.

Speaking on Thursday ahead of Sunday's Community Shield with Manchester City, Wenger revealed interest from United and others.

Wenger said: "Have we received bids? Yes. I can't tell you who from but you will know very soon.

"Are Man United one of the teams to have made an offer? I think they could be in the group.

"Ideally, yes, we would like to sell him abroad and that is an option for us.

"I don't want to say how many offers we have but we have offers from abroad as well."

United are understood to still be interested, although a swap deal would not interest them, with rumours Arsenal enquired about defender Chris Smalling and striker Javier Hernandez.

Now it seems the Nou Camp, and not Old Trafford, is Vermaelen's likely destination.

Wenger believes it is important for Vermaelen to play.

"He could leave, it could happen, I've said that since the start of pre-season," the Frenchman added.

"He needs to play now. He has shown an outstanding attitude but he is in a position where we wouldn't stand in his way if he finds an interesting opportunity."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport