Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Velazquez coy about N'Diaye

Published 16/07/2014 | 13:18

Alfred N'Diaye has been linked with a move to Real Betis
Alfred N'Diaye has been linked with a move to Real Betis

Real Betis coach Julio Velazquez is remaining coy amid speculation that Sunderland midfielder Alfred N'Diaye could make a permanent move to Spain.

The 24-year-old Frenchman spent the second half of last season on loan at Betis after failing to force his way into Black Cats boss Gus Poyet's plans, having already headed out to Turkish side Eskisehirspor with predecessor Paolo di Canio similarly unimpressed.

He is available as the head coach and sporting director Lee Congerton work to reshape the squad, but amid reports that the Spaniards are about to clinch a £1.5million deal, Velazquez was giving little away.

Asked about N'Diaye and speculation that Fiorentina midfielder Joaquin could return to his former club, the coach told the club's official website, www.realbetisbalompie.es: "There is constant communication between the technical secretariat and the coach. It also happens between the board of directors and myself.

"We maintain an ongoing relationship over different situations. These are internal issues.

"I find two great players, each with a different profile. From there, if there are options or not is an internal matter, and it should stay so."

N'Diaye was signed by former Sunderland boss Martin O'Neill for around £3.7million from Bursaspor in January 2013 and despite making a favourable early impression with the club's fans, has made only 16 senior appearances.

Sunderland are currently pursuing their interest in Fiorentina defender Marcos Alonso, who spent the second half of last season on loan at the Stadium of Light, while striker Ignacio Scocco is wanted by former club Newell's Old Boys after an unproductive few months on Wearside following his January move from Internacional.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport