Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Unsatisfied Suarez won't force move

Published 09/07/2013 | 12:38

Luis Suarez will not try to force a move away from Liverpool
Luis Suarez will not try to force a move away from Liverpool

Liverpool have been told striker Luis Suarez wants to play Champions League football but he will not yet try to force through a move.

  • Go To

The Uruguay international's agent Pere Guardiola, brother of new Bayern Munich coach Pep, revealed as much in scheduled meetings with Reds managing director Ian Ayre and manager Brendan Rodgers on Monday.

It was the first formal communication the club had received from either the player or his representative since the 26-year-old went public on his dislike of his treatment by the English media and the lure of Real Madrid.

Press Association Sport understands that while no transfer request was made Guardiola said Suarez would at least like to consider playing elsewhere.

Liverpool remain steadfast in their stance that last season's 30-goal forward is not for sale but anyone bidding £40million would have the chance to speak to him, although the club insist that figure does not represent a buy-out clause.

The Reds have maintained a good relationship with Guardiola during an eventful two-and-a-half years at Anfield and the discussions were amicable.

However, it is expected Guardiola will now spend the next couple of weeks trying to find a buyer for Suarez - with Madrid still the favourites - and will then notify Liverpool of any interest.

While the Merseysiders do not want to sell they would be likely to value Suarez around £50million, significantly higher than the £30million bid from Arsenal which was rejected last week.

Suarez is on extended leave after international duty in the Confederations Cup in Brazil and is not due to return for training until July 22.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport