Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


United put Rooney in the picture

Published 25/07/2013 | 07:17

Wayne Rooney is reportedly eager to join Chelsea
Wayne Rooney is reportedly eager to join Chelsea

Manchester United have increased the pressure on Wayne Rooney by using his image to promote next month's friendly against AIK Solna in Stockholm.

On Monday, United manager David Moyes confirmed Rooney was on track to feature in the game after responding well to treatment on the hamstring injury that forced him to fly home from the club's pre-season tour less than 24 hours after his arrival.

Although the player wants to leave United, preferably for Chelsea, the Red Devils have insisted Rooney is not for sale.

And by using Rooney to promote the game in Sweden on August 6, with the word 'Back' superimposed over his image and his shirt number 10 on a picture posted on Twitter, the club appear to be making a significant point.

With two years remaining on his contract, Rooney is hardly in a position not to travel, although there have been suggestions he may opt to force the issue by handing in a transfer request.

There is also the possibility United's stance may soften should they succeed in their pursuit of Barcelona's Cesc Fabregas.

Rooney's fellow striker Robin van Persie did travel to Osaka with his team-mates on Wednesday despite picking up a thigh injury in Tuesday's surprise defeat to J League outfit Yokohama F Marinos.

Meanwhile, Jonny Evans has revealed he has become a football obsessive in order to make sure he is not left behind in the battle for a first-team spot at Old Trafford.

Speaking to Press Association Sport during United's tour of the Far East and Australia, the Northern Ireland international said: "For me, the last couple of years has been about learning how to live right off the pitch.

"My focus has been solely about football. When I wake up in the morning it is the first thing I think about.

"I take time and think about how I am going to improve.

"It becomes an obsession. I get up two hours earlier than I used to. I get into training earlier and go to the gym.

"I understand there is a fine line. I like to play golf. I like to spend time with my wife. I don't overkill it. As soon as I have finished training I try to relax.

"But I have a routine which I have worked hard at and which works for me."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport