Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


United confirm Moyes appointment

Published 09/05/2013 | 16:14

David Moyes will officially join Manchester United on July 1
David Moyes will officially join Manchester United on July 1

Manchester United have confirmed David Moyes as their new manager.

  • Go To

The 50-year-old has signed a six-year-contract with the Old Trafford outfit and will join officially on July 1 after completing the season with Everton.

Moyes has the backing of Sir Alex Ferguson, who confirmed his retirement on Wednesday, and his first official competitive game will be the Community Shield against either Manchester City or Wigan at Wembley on August 11.

Moyes said: "It's a great honour to be asked to be the next manager of Manchester United. I am delighted that Sir Alex saw fit to recommend me for the job. I have great respect for everything he has done for the football club.

"I know how hard it will be to follow the best manager ever, but the opportunity to manage Manchester United isn't something that comes around very often and I'm really looking forward to taking up the post next season."

With Moyes committed to concluding the season at Everton, he will not be introduced as United manager until after the campaign is over.

"I have had a terrific job at Everton, with a tremendous chairman and board of directors and a great set of players," he added. "Between now and the end of the season, I will do everything in my power to make sure we finish as high as possible in the table.

"Everton's fantastic fans have played a big part in making my years at Goodison so enjoyable and I thank them wholeheartedly for the support they have given me and the players. Everton will be close to me for the rest of my life."

Having decided to end his near 27-year stint at United this summer, Ferguson quickly came to the conclusion his fellow countryman would be the right man to follow.

"When we discussed the candidates that we felt had the right attributes, we unanimously agreed on David Moyes," said Ferguson. "David is a man of great integrity with a strong work ethic. I've admired his work for a long time and approached him as far back as 1998 to discuss the position of assistant manager here."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport