Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


United and Villa agree Cleverley loan 12 hours after deadline

Published 02/09/2014 | 13:05

Tom Cleverley has joined Aston Villa on a season-long loan deal
Tom Cleverley has joined Aston Villa on a season-long loan deal

Aston Villa are waiting to discover if their late move for Tom Cleverley has come off, Press Association Sport understands.

  • Go To

The club made a u-turn on Monday to sign the Manchester United midfielder on loan but it is yet to be rubber stamped by the Premier League.

Villa had initially pulled the plug on a permanent deal for Cleverley with the England man's wage demands pricing him out of a move.

He was also believed to favour a switch to Everton but the Toffees never struck a deal with United on deadline day.

That prompted Villa to reignite a move for the 25-year-old and they are waiting to see if they managed to complete it in time.

Villa had agreed a fee of around £8m with United for Cleverley but called the deal off on Monday after talks reached a deadlock.

Boss Paul Lambert has been looking to beef up his midfield despite adding Carlos Sanchez, Joe Cole and Kieran Richardson over the summer.

He also sold Karim El Ahmadi back to Feyenoord and loaned Aleksandar Tonev to Celtic.

Cleverley looks to have little future at Old Trafford with boss Louis van Gaal making him available and Hull were also interested before moving for Newcastle's Hatem Ben Arfa.

The England international has made 79 appearances for United, the last coming in their 1-1 draw at Sunderland in August.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport