Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


United agree deal for Rojo

Published 19/08/2014 | 19:21

Left-back Marcos Rojo is on his way to Old Trafford
Left-back Marcos Rojo is on his way to Old Trafford

Sporting Lisbon have sanctioned the sale of Marcos Rojo to Manchester United with winger Nani returning to Portugal as part of the deal.

Argentina international Rojo, 24, on Tuesday morning hinted he was poised to move to Old Trafford and become part of Louis van Gaal's squad, and Sporting have now confirmed his departure.

Tweets published through the Primeira Liga club's official account welcomed Nani to the Estadio Jose Alvalade while announcing United had also given Sporting nine million euros to help construct their new indoor arena, the Pavilhao, in exchange for securing Rojo's services.

The 27-year-old Nani, who moved to Manchester in 2007, is understood to have joined the Lions on a season-long loan, but neither United nor Sporting have confirmed the details.

Rojo is equally comfortable at centre-back as he is at left-back and played all 120 minutes of July's World Cup final as Argentina lost to Germany after extra-time in Rio de Janeiro.

In an interview with the radio station Continental in his homeland, quoted in several national newspapers, he said: "It's a dream to play at Manchester United and I am very proud of having the chance of working with (Louis) van Gaal.

"I spoke with Juan Sebastian Veron about Manchester United when we were at Estudiantes. I have always liked English football, and I should adapt to this new playing style easily."

United's move for Rojo had been complicated by a row between Sporting and his third-party ownership group, while the player upset his employers by initially refusing to train in a bid to push through the deal, although he later apologised and returned to work.

"There was a misunderstanding, I never wanted to do something wrong at Sporting as I have always been very thankful to that team that gave me many chances for playing in Europe," Rojo said.

"If I made a mistake, I have already apologised because I didn't want to hurt the feelings of anyone at the club."

Tweets from United's official account published later on Tuesday read: "#mufc has reached agreement with Sporting Lisbon to sign defender Marcos Rojo, subject to a medical and personal terms.

"A further announcement will be made when the process is complete."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport