Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Trapattoni handed major World Cup boost as Marc Wilson to make comeback

Published 12/02/2013 | 12:21

Marc Wilson
Marc Wilson

IRELAND manager Giovanni Trapattoni handed a timely boost after Tony Pulis confirmed Marc Wilson could soon be available for Stoke City after recovering from a horrific leg break.

The Republic of Ireland international, who sustained a broken fibula in October, has finally finished his rehabilitation. He should be available for next month's crucial World Cup qualifiers against Sweden and Austria.

Wilson catapulted himself into the position as Ireland's first-choice full-back ahead of Stephen Ward and Greg Cunningham with a commanding display against the Faroe Islands last October. He capped that display with a stunning first half goal.

Pulis confirmed that Wilson could be available for Stoke's trip to Craven Cottage on February 23.

"We have a break now where we can rest one or two of the players up for a little while, and the ones who we are trying to get back can step things up, which is fantastic for us," Pulis told the official club website.

"We are looking to stage a couple of friendly games over the next week or so to give players like Marc (Wilson) and Brek(Shea) a chance to step up their fitness.

"If they do that, then they will definitely come into the equation for the Fulham game; there is no doubt about that."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport