Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Trap boost as Wolves defender Richard Stearman set for Republic switch

Published 09/07/2013 | 15:09

Richard Stearman
Richard Stearman

Wolves defender Richard Stearman could be available to Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni next season.

  • Go To

The Football Association of Ireland is in the process of completing the paperwork which will make the former England Under-21 international eligible for selection.

Stearman, who qualifies through his maternal grandparents, has previously spoken of his hope of winning senior international recognition with Ireland.

The 25-year-old told the East Anglian Daily Times in February: "It's in the process at the moment. I am gaining a passport and citizenship and hopefully that will be not far around the corner.

"All my family on my mother's side are Irish and I am looking to get on the international scene."

Trapattoni has cast the net wide in recent seasons in an attempt to increase the pool of players from which he can select.

Richard Dunne, John O'Shea, Sean St Ledger and Darren O'Dea have been his central defensive mainstays in recent seasons, but he is keen to blood younger players and Everton full-back Seamus Coleman and Wigan midfielder James McCarthy established themselves as regulars last season.

Stearman's club future is currently uncertain with Ipswich boss Mick McCarthy, who took him on loan from Wolves in January keen to make the reunion permanent after a successful spell at Portman Road.

However, the Black Country club are understood to have placed a £1million price-tag on the man they signed from Leicester in June 2008 with new manager Kenny Jackett attempting to convince him to remain at Molineux, where he has a year of his existing deal to run.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport