Sport Soccer

Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Talks resume over N'Diaye future

Published 20/08/2014 | 11:36

Alfred N'Diaye is heading for the exit at the Stadium of Light
Alfred N'Diaye is heading for the exit at the Stadium of Light

Sunderland midfielder Alfred N'Diaye could finally be on his way out of the club as talks resume over his future.

The 24-year-old Frenchman, who spent the second half of last season on loan to Spanish club Real Betis, has attracted interest from Betis, Celta Vigo and Elche in recent months.

But despite agreeing a fee - understood to be in the region of £2million - with the Black Cats some time ago, Betis were unable to table personal terms which were acceptable to N'Diaye.

However, it is understood a further round of talks is due to get under way with no other suitor having pushed home their interest.

Sunderland are keen to offload the player, signed in January 2013 by then manager Martin O'Neill, as they re-shape their squad after last season's remarkable fight for Barclays Premier League survival.

They have already signed seven new players and have high hopes of adding to that list as sporting director Lee Congerton and head coach Gus Poyet focus on their remaining targets with the closure of the summer transfer window looming.

However, the likes of N'Diaye, fellow midfielder Cabral and central defender Modibo Diakite, none of whom have been given squad numbers for the new season, are expected to leave.

The rebuilding plan is being complicated somewhat by the Black Cats' pursuit of top target Fabio Borini, who remains frustratingly out of their grasp.

The Borini camp has indicated the Italian wants to fight for his place at Liverpool this season, having enjoyed a successful campaign at the Stadium of Light last time around, and the collapse of Brendan Rodgers' move for QPR frontman Loic Remy has weakened Sunderland's armoury.

Poyet has been bullish about getting his man in recent days, but the point where the club will have to admit defeat and move on to other options should no deal be struck is fast approaching.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport