Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Tadic ready to write new chapter

Published 09/07/2014 | 13:33

Dusan Tadic was impressed with Southampton's football last season
Dusan Tadic was impressed with Southampton's football last season

Serbian playmaker Dusan Tadic hopes he can be part of a new chapter in Southampton's history, with manager Ronald Koeman close to bringing more fresh faces to St Mary's.

  • Go To

Saints have seen the likes of England internationals Luke Shaw, Adam Lallana and Rickie Lambert all follow former boss Mauricio Pochettino out of the south-coast club.

However, Tadic, signed for what is believed to be in excess of £8million, is convinced Southampton can move forward next season.

Tours striker Andy Delort is said to be on Koeman's radar as well as Lorient defender Bruno Ecuele Manga, who could be seen as cover for wantaway Dejan Lovren, who is determined to leave for Liverpool.

"There was a lot of interest from other clubs, but I really wanted to finish (the transfer) and I could see Southampton was a good opportunity for me," Tadic told Southampton's official YouTube channel.

" I see this as a new step for me, so I want to show myself and to help the club.

"I heard the club has a history, and I watched them last year and they played really good football, which is important because I am a football player and I like to play football.

"England has one of the best leagues in the world. English football is really good to watch, and it's going to be a pleasure to play here.

"I hope me and Southampton are going to have a good future."

Tadic is confident former Barcelona defender Koeman, who impressed while in charge of Feyenoord in the Eredivisie, can help develop his game.

"Feyenoord have had a lot of success because of him, because he developed a lot of players and made them better," the 25-year-old added.

"You always have a lot of respect for his teams because he is a Dutch legend. He is a really good coach and you can expect that his teams will play even better because of him, even if they don't have great quality.

"He is tactically really good, and it's very difficult to play against his teams."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport