Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Swilly Rovers to appeal sanctions over alleged racism incident in SFAI Cup tie

Published 14/03/2014 | 02:30

Football manager Wayne Thorne woke from his coma after hearing of his team's win
Football manager Wayne Thorne woke from his coma after hearing of his team's win

SWILLY ROVERS are set to lodge an appeal after being heavily sanctioned by the Schoolboys' Football Association of Ireland (SFAI) over an alleged racial incident at a game in Swilly Park.

The Ramelton-based club attended a hearing with the SFAI on Wednesday to answer an allegation that a player from Castlebar Celtic was the subject of 'chants of a racial nature' from a section of the attendance at an U-15 SFAI Cup game on March 1.

Yesterday the club was informed that it had been fined €1,000. The club has also been ordered to play future games in this season's SFAI Cup competitions (including the U-15 quarter-final against Kingdom Boys from Kerry) at a neutral venue and to undertake an FAI inter-cultural racism programme.

However, Swilly are vehemently contesting the allegation, and a hastily-arranged meeting last night was expected to confirm that an appeal will be lodged with the FAI.

The investigation was launched by the SFAI on foot of a complaint by Mayo Intercultural Action, who made FAI intercultural programme co-ordinator Des Tomlinson aware of the claims.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport