Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 0

Poland POL 1

Ongoing

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Surgery blow for Reds midfielder Allen

Published 20/03/2013 | 15:16

Joe Allen will miss the rest of the season due to a shoulder injury
Joe Allen will miss the rest of the season due to a shoulder injury

Liverpool midfielder Joe Allen has been ruled out of the remainder of the season as he will undergo surgery on a troublesome shoulder problem on Thursday.

The 23-year-old withdrew from the Wales squad on Sunday because of the long-standing issue with his left shoulder, and the club then decided to bring forward plans for an operation.

Allen has had the problem for some time, but it began to get worse about five months ago and has now reached the point where corrective intervention is required.

"Joe Allen is due to have a left shoulder operation tomorrow morning in Liverpool and will be ready to return to football at the beginning of next season," first team doctor Zaf Iqbal told liverpoolfc.com.

Allen followed manager Brendan Rodgers from Swansea in the summer in a £15million transfer and was a permanent fixture from the off.

He started Liverpool's first 17 Premier League matches of the campaign, but the return to fitness of Lucas Leiva presented Rodgers with more options in midfield.

Since the turn of the year his appearances have been less frequent and the player admitted his shoulder had started to become more of a problem, although he did not blame that on his drop in form.

"I've had an operation in the past and unfortunately I've had a recurrence of the injury and carried it for a little while," he told liverpoolfc.com last week.

"Recently, in particular, it has deteriorated and we have got to a stage where we have to do something about it.

"It's something I've been able to play with, though, so there are no excuses in that department."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport