Sport Soccer

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Stoke close in on Agudelo

Published 15/01/2014 | 13:27

Stoke-bound Juan Agudelo can count New York Red Bulls among his former clubs
Stoke-bound Juan Agudelo can count New York Red Bulls among his former clubs

Stoke are hopeful of finalising the signing of United States striker Juan Agudelo in the next couple of days once they have found a club who can take him on loan.

  • Go To

The Potters failed to get a work permit for the 21-year-old in November and will not be able to re-apply until March.

However, Press Association Sport understands Stoke are in the process of sounding out a European club not so tightly bound by regulations who are willing to take the USA international on loan in the interim.

Stoke are confident they have a more favourable chance of succeeding with a work permit application second time around, particularly if Agudelo is playing regularly in Europe, and for that reason are pushing ahead with a permanent deal for the forward.

If the necessary paperwork is subsequently obtained, manager Mark Hughes would have the option of bringing the player back to the club or leaving him out on loan for the remainder of the season.

Agudelo has been a free agent since his contract with the New England Revolution expired after the MLS season.

"There's no other club that has supported and believed in me like @stokecity FC has. #SignedToday - 6 month loan imminent #Europeanfootballer" he wrote on Twitter on Tuesday.

Stoke yesterday made midfielder Stephen Ireland's loan from Aston Villa a permanent deal, which then allowed them to sign John Guidetti on a temporary basis from Manchester City.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport